Skip to content

2024

Premix is now public

This is a copy of an update I recently sent to my GitHub sponsors..

After some reflection, I've made the decision to make the Geek Cookbook Premix repo public, rather than sponsors-only. Instead of switching the private repo to public (which would potentially expose all of your forks), I've created a fresh repository at geek-cookbook/premix, and will leave the private repo as-is.

My reasoning as is follows:

  1. I've been neglecting it / you. Over the past 14 months, I've spent all my spare time / funds building ElfHosted (read about the journey in the monthly reports here), and it's only just showing signs of becoming self-sustaining.

    It's unrealistic to think that I'll have time/focus in the short-term to hack on recipes / premix, so in offering repo access in exchange for sponsorship, I'm setting a false expectation for support / updates.

  2. Some of the recipes / premixes need a "fresh coat of paint", and making the repo public will hopefully encourage more PRs and community engagement.

I realize that premix access may have been your primary motivator for sponsoring me, and so you have my blessing to "un-sponsor" if you'd prefer...

Still here? Thank you for sticking with me ❤️ , and please feel free to hit me up in Discord with questions / comments / ideas / requests, I'd love to hear from you! :)